Multi Pitch Politeness when stuck behind slow folks.

Everything and anything to do with climbing in Squamish.
Stephen Hooper
I'm New Here
I'm New Here

Multi Pitch Politeness when stuck behind slow folks.

Post by Stephen Hooper » Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:44 pm

Hi, I am new to multi-pitch climbing and was stuck behind some really slow climbers today. I was not sure what would be considered rude so I smiled and waited an hr on one of the pitches so we would both have breathing room.

So my question would be how do you people deal with this problem when different climbing parties bunch up mid route?

NateDoggOG

Re: Multi Pitch Politeness when stuck behind slow folks.

Post by NateDoggOG » Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:56 pm

Leader of your party meets them at one set of anchors, says, 'hey, mind if we run past you?' and if they are cool, they say no go ahead, or if they decide to be asses, then they'll say yeah we mind, usually in a rude tone. Most slower parties are pretty cool about it, you just have to ask.

c-plus

Post by c-plus » Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:55 pm

It's fun too when you've got a hot-shot guy taking his ladyfriend up a climb that's clearly over her head. First he refuses to let you pass cause he claims they're actually fast, and then it gets really fun (read: awkward) since you've now got a front row seat to watch them as she goes super slow, then freaks out, and then starts yelling and cursing at him for dragging her out there.

Good times.

if you see a party ahead on a climb, first watch them for a bit before you start and judge how fast you think they're going. If they're slow, be prepared to get stuck behind them, especially if the belays suck for passing (no ledges). If they do let you pass, repay the courtesy by quickly getting past them.

-C

Stephen Hooper
I'm New Here
I'm New Here

Post by Stephen Hooper » Fri Aug 19, 2011 11:56 pm